What is Your Life?

“O LORD, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days; let me know how fleeting I am!” – Psalm 39:4 ESV

Heard from an old Shipmate today – what a pleasant surprise! This really reinforces what I have been thinking about here at the end of 2011! That is the passing of time… How FAST it goes by. Think about it for a minute, those of us who can remember “Back in the Day” a relative term to be sure. I read a news story recently about Mark Hamill… have you seen him lately? He does not look very much like Luke the Farm Boy who was an ace X-Wing Fighter Pilot. I saw a show during PBS fund-raising that had Peter, Paul and Mary introducing yet another Christmas Special. I remember them singing “Puff the Magic Dragon” – Now, there is just puff, a lot of puff. I could give many more then-and-now examples – such as: Stephen Stills, Linda Ronstadt, Mick Jagger, and last but not least Neil Young. These then and now pictures are certainly a reminder that life is… fleeting.

My brother, three years older than me looks like he is 30 years older than me because of a destructive life-style that has caught up with him. My sister who is having to live with a debilitating physical condition that is of no fault of her own. My own father-in law, who married my wife and I when he was 53… he is now 84.

And as can be seen by my own then and now picture I have become rounder and grayer. Through it all I can say that God has been merciful, gracious and loving to me – and this is something worth remembering here at the end of 2011!

Image

“Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”—yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil. So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.” – James 4:13-17 ESV

