Multitasking Monday

Mondays are generally busy for me…a little too busy to take the time to write a well thought out blog post. However a couple of very interesting blogs have come across my desk…or computer screen, as it were, and I wanted to pass them along, they aren’t WordPress blogs so I don’t have the luxury of hitting the “Reblog” button so I’ll just have to settle for the good old post a link blog post.

The first post serves as a very good follow-up to my blog post on Christian Jerks and Haters. It’s from the Gospel Coalition Blog. It’s from a brother by the name of Trevin Wax and I believe this blog post serves as a very important follow up to my post. This is a great summation of everything I didn’t say but should have…or that I alluded to, but should have drawn out more. It’s just a simple list of 11 Questions to Discern a Judgmental Heart.  There is a big difference in being Dicerning and Jugemental and it’s a line that’s easily crossed and we must be aware of it. I think this post serves as a good counter-point to my point and I hope you find it to be as thought provoking as I did.

The second post is something that has been on my mind lately. My church has a contemporary style worship service with a praise band and fancy lighting and what not. While I find that to be all well and good, something about it is very concerning to me. I enjoy the service, but there always seems to be something…for lack of a better term, “forced” about the whole thing. This blog post is by a fellow by the name of James KA Smith and he is a professor of Philosophy at Calvin College in Michigan. It’s entitled An Open Letter to Praise Bands and I really believe he hit the nail on the head as to what some of my concerns have been with the music at our church.

I hope you get as much out of these two posts as I did, I found them both to be very thought provoking.

