Praying for a “Hedge” of Protection

Traveling home from seeing my grandparents in Evansville, I-64 can be a pretty boring stretch of road, I turned on the radio and was flipping through channels when I came across a church service on the radio…intrigued, as I always am by the opportunity to hear a good sermon, I decided to listen. The service amused me for a couple of reasons. The first was that the announcer called it the “traditional” service and as I listened to the music being played they had tambourines, which were completely off rhythm and they even did a jazz version of “How Great Thou Art.” When I was a kid there was only a traditional service and we only used a piano and organ…and, believe it or not, you could actually hear the people singing.

I did remember though as we listened to a musical rendition of “To Your Name Be the Glory” while the offering was being taken up it was exactly the same thing our church did as a kid. If a modern song

was to be played at all it was as either “special” music or during the offertory…or sometimes both. Of course back then a modern Christian song was either an Amy Grant song or a Michael W. Smith song, maybe sometimes a little Keith Green thrown in.

As we continued to listen one of the deacons prayed a prayer for some missionaries they were supporting overseas. The deacon prayed for a hedge of protection to be placed around them, which of course reminded me of all the times I heard my dad pray the exact same thing. What exactly is a hedge of protection? When did that become a thing to pray for? I understand wanting them to be safe but, come on, a hedge…really? Aren’t there some things that would be better to pray for than a neatly trimmed circle of bushes? A suit of armor perhaps or a force field of some kind like that girl from The Incredibles can make? Last time I checked a hedge is pretty easily jumped over, and it has nothing overhead to protect you. Why do people pray for such things? I don’t remember Jesus praying for a hedge of protection for His disciples…didn’t He warn them that he was sending them out as lambs among wolves?

What are some other kind of silly things we pray for?

7 thoughts on “Praying for a “Hedge” of Protection

  1. I think I remember learning that in relation to Hosea’s wife Gomer. That’s the text they pulled from to teach it. But in context she’s being protected from her own folly, a hedgeif thorns between her and her lovers. It’s in the section where God speaks about luring her into the wilderness (Israel) to speak to her tenderly. Now that I think about it, it does sound like a stretch to turn that into an exhortation to pray for some sort of Christian force field. 🙂

  2. I think I remember learning that in relation to Hosea’s wife Gomer. That’s the text they pulled from to teach it. But in context she’s being protected from her own folly, a hedgeif thorns between her and her lovers. It’s in the section where God speaks about luring her into the wilderness (Israel) to s

Comments are closed.