My Life-Verse

My life verse is Jeremiah 29:23b…it just means so much to me. When I’m down, when I feel upset…and when I need encouragement…I just look at this one verse I have written on a piece of paper and taped to my bathroom mirror. I read it again and again until I feel better. I pray about this verse…I recite this verse…it really just defines my life and my Christian walk….it’s as if it were written just for me thousands of years ago. Let me share it with you, Jeremiah 29:23b

”I am witness, declares the Lord”

Okay sure maybe it’s not grammatically correct but you know those Bible guys weren’t that smart back then right?

Wh-what do you mean you don’t get it? Of course you don’t “get it”, it was written just for me, thousands of years ago…by God himself. This verse tells me that God is in heaven right now, just watching me be awesome.

Now I know a lot, A LOT of people point to Jeremiah 29:11 for a life verse, but I like to think I’m better than they are by going down a few more verses to 23…and I skip over the first few words of the verse that make it sound like it was written about someone else…that’s can’t be right? I mean it was clearly written for me, by God, thousands of years ago…it’s His love letter, just to me…and I love Him for it.

In fact I love God so much that I’m really doing awesome at keeping the “big 10” …and not the NCAA division…I mean the 10 commandments. In fact, I’ve never killed anyone…just ask my friends and they’ll all say I’m the least likely person they know that would kill someone. Loving God and loving people…I am there bro…I am awesome at it, and that’s why this verse means so much to me. God is just watching me be me. He loves me just as I am you know.

Even though I am darn near perfect, I’m not quite there yet…and sometimes, when I feel down about that…I look to my other life verse, John 11:35…”Jesus wept” and I’m comforted by those words in that verse. It lets me know that it’s okay to cry sometimes, like when the Jets lose or when you stub your toe on something in the middle of the night. It’s okay to cry…because Jesus wept.

And when I’m done crying I re-read my life verse, written on a piece of paper, taped to the mirror over my bathroom sink and it reminds me that God has a wonderful plan for my life, and that He’s watching me from heaven right now, just watching me be awesome at loving Him and others, He is witness.

2 thoughts on “My Life-Verse

Comments are closed.