The Seven 3.12.13

Seven Great Blog Posts from this past week you may have missed.

71) Legalism is one of the plagues of the church, some people mistakenly think they can contribute something to their own salvation, or worse yet help save themselves, but how do you spot legalism? This article by Greg Stier may be of some help.

2) Being a Small Group leader I will sometimes get asked what the benefits of Small Groups are, and as per usual when I’m put on the spot my mind goes completely and totally blank. This list of 13 Reasons Why Small Groups are Vital to your Spiritual Growth will now serve as a handy reminder.

3) Being a Calvinist I sometimes get the question “If God is sovereign why bother with evangelization?” After composing myself from spewing my coffee all over the place, I attempt to answer the ridiculous question. As if Gods sovereignty somehow usurps our responsibilities as a Christian, This blog post via Clint Letterman is a good reminder of why we evangelize.

4) I was born and raised as a Southern Baptist…and the church I now attend is still, technically speaking, a Southern Baptist Church…I know the SBC has a lot of good things to offer through its various programs and what not, but I find myself feeling , to say the very least, conflicted over the current state of affairs in the SBC, the Calvinist witch-hunt notwithstanding. This article by JD Hall sums up my feelings in a similar fashion.

5) The 1689 London Baptist Confession of Faith is one of the earliest formal confessions of Baptists, I think it does a better job of laying out and summarizing the Baptist distinctions than  even the current version of the Baptist Faith & Message.

6) Rob Bell is showing up again in mainstream evangelisicm…as if only to say…”Hey don’t forget about me” This article by Julia over at Steak and a Bible does a good job of disecting his most recent book trailer.

7) Of course the one thing Bell and his ilk ALWAYS overlook is God’s Holiness…in this video clip RC Sproul discusses the Holiness of God (and not his book by the same title)

7a (BONUS) I’ve long said that Sarcasm is my love language…as I am a frequent purveyor of a vetted tounge…but is it right for me to so freely use sarcasm as a Christian? This article over at TGC discusses that very thing.

Tweet of the Week

One thought on “The Seven 3.12.13

Comments are closed.