A Letter from a Hater

h8rCan I be totally honest with you for a minute?

I hate homosexuality

I hate gluttony

I hate lying

In fact, I hate sin of all forms period.

I hate sin…I hate to sin, and I hate to see others sin…but most of all I hate to see the sin within myself.

We live in a world that says: ”I’m okay, you’re okay.”

But I know…deep in my heart…

I’m.

Not.

Okay.

And besides that, saying: ”I’m okay, you’re okay.” Is the lowest form of a cop-out there is.

Some would bristle at the idea of my admitting that I hate homosexuality

Or lies.

Or gluttony

Or covetousness (that’s wanting someone elses stuff for those of you in the U.P.)

But the simple truth of the matter is I hate it…I hate the sin in me…I hate how my sin affects my family…I hate how others sin affects my family.

I hate it.

And I’m tired.

I’m tired of always guarding my thoughts

I’m tired of always guarding my motives.

The yoke of Christ is called easy and light doesn’t really always feel so easy…

Or light…

But maybe it’s not exactly supposed to…

Maybe the ease of the yoke of Christ lies in the rest OUR soul finds in knowing Him…and knowing that He works all things for the good of His purposes, even though it sure doesn’t seem like it sometimes and even though we can’t see it.

Maybe the ease of the yoke of Christ lies in the rest OUR soul finds in knowing that through Him, in spite of my current state of sin…I won’t always be that way…and that even now I am seen as righteous by God. And one day I will be made righteous indeed.

Maybe the frustration and anger I feel toward sin is what propels me to fight harder.

Maybe the frustration and anger I feel toward sin help keep my motives and my heart in check.

And maybe…

Just maybe…

This frustration and anger toward sin are exactly what I need right now.

2 thoughts on “A Letter from a Hater

  1. Pingback: Hating Sin, Who Speaks Truth and Is Technology the Problem? | Steak and a Bible

  2. John, I love this post. I’m reminded of the poem Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night by Dylan Thomas.

    Rage on my friend, keep fighting the good fight, keep fighting against the dying of the light.

Comments are closed.