The Seven 7.2.13

Authors Note: Welcome to a Super Sized edition of The Seven! Personally, I’ve had a busy week and I just want to say “Thanks” again to all the prayed for my family this past week, your prayers mean a lot to us.

7

1) The biggest news this past week was, of course, SCOTUS handing down its ruling on Prop 8 and DOMA, we, as a nation are sliding down a very slippery slope and our speed seems to be accelerating. In these troubling times who is a helpful voice of reason to listen to? This post by Dr. David Shrock may be of some help answering that question.  The most reasoned voices in all this come from Dr. Albert Mohler and Dr. Russel Moore. Dr. Mohler’s article “Waiting for the Other Shoe” explained exactly what SCOTUS was doing when it handed down its rulings and what it means for Christians, (You can also listen to The Briefing, Dr. Mohler’s radio podcast, on the same issue, here.) Equally as good as Dr. Mohler’s article was Dr. Moore’s article “How Should Same-Sex Marriage Change the Church’s Witness?”  (NOTE: for some reason I was having trouble getting Dr. Moore’s webpage to come up, let me know if you have that trouble as well.)

2) It’s no surprise that America is increasingly becoming a nation with no regard for God, and I’m as patriotic as the next guy (unless that next person is the POTUS, in which case I’m way more patriotic, I actually like this country as it was founded) The bigger question I think we need to look at is: as Christians, where do our primary loyalties lie? With the county or with Christ? How does something as simple as having an American flag in your church send a mixed message? This article from The Cripplegate will answer that.

3) IN THE NEWS: I once heard someone say “To see where America will be in ten years, just look at England now.” Whether there is any REAL truth to that I don’t know. What I do know is that there is some troubling news coming out of the UK concerning two American pastors who were witnessing in a Muslim neighborhood and told, by the police, to leave. You can read about it here. Here in the U.S, the DOJ has now defunded any group that so much as reference God. Are they going to defund money that states “In God We Trust.”  And to end on a lighter note, in the ironic news category: This news story cracked me up. Maybe my sense of humor is too dark, but it just seems like a Monty Python sketch, only it’s happening in real life.

4) In the town that my church is in (not my hometown, but the next town over…it’s a long story) there is a pastor who, Sunday after Sunday, takes barbs at other churches during his sermon, I’m not talking about taking barbs at the Catholic church or the Lutheran church, but another specific church of the same denomination. I know this because I was the youth director at that church for three and a half years and heard the pastor do it, and now I go to the other church that continues to be his frequent target. That is not how we should be operating as part of the family of God. Do you pray for churches other than your own? You should, and this article by Greg Gilbert does an excellent job of explaining why.

5) I have children, three of them in fact, and I’m trying hard to teach them and mold them into young women and men of Christ.  This article by Timothy Paul Jones is an excellent read on just that topic and probably you should bookmark it as well and refer to it often, especially when you’ve had to say one of those phrases you never in your life believed another human should have to say to another human, like “Please take the pea out of your nose”  or “Please don’t use the curtains as a swing.” The article is just a good reminder.

6) Here are a couple of excellent articles by my friend Jeremy Sarber, one is on the false notion of living your best life now and the other is on our biggest obstacle in asking for help, our pride.

7) I read a lot, A LOT, but if you’re like me you want a good book to read not one that is a complete waste of time. Here are some good book reviews to read before you purchase your next book. This first one is on the book: Prepared for Grace, by Grace by Dr. Joel Beeke. This second one is on the book Crucifying Morality by R.W.Glenn. Both look like great books that I look forward to adding to my collection.

FREE RESOURCE

Currently there are two excellent ebooks that you should check out. The first one is the book What’s so Great About the Doctrines of Grace by Richard Phillips and the second one is The Power of Suffering by John MacArthur. Both are well worth your time, and it’s hard to beat the price…because they’re FREE!

TWEET OF THE WEEK

