I Declare = Word-Faith Preachers are Agents of Satan

I Declare this book isn’t worth the paper it’s printed on

Joel Osteen’s new book released yesterday. Osteen’s newest self-help book is called I Declare-31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life. The description on Osteen’s website reads:

The words we speak set the course for our life. If you want to know what you’re going to be like in five years, listen to the words you are saying about yourself today. Now you can take charge of your future with the help of Joel Osteen’s latest book-I Declare. Filled with 31 written declarations-one for each day-you can declare, in faith, God’s powerful Word over your life and watch your surroundings change in incredible ways. You will move forward to a promising future from the fruit of your words! (Source)

This reminds me of another book I am reading by a somewhat lesser known Mega-Pastor John Hagee, his book is called The Power of the Prophetic Blessing,  I was saving my comments about the lies of Word-Faith pastors till I did my book review but since it seems to be heresy hurricane season I will go ahead and tell you what the Bible says that is contrary to this heresy…and I’d like all other pastors that are in cahoots with these W-F heretics to take notice, it doesn’t matter how many people are “getting saved” in these churches, false doctrine makes false converts. As a pastor you should be protecting your sheep from these men, not giving them a platform to spew their lies and half-truths. And though I am referring specifically to Mark Driscoll, who has the nerve to call Joel Osteen a brother in Christ from the pulpit/stage on a Sunday morning and participate in a Google hangout with Steven Furtick to promote his new book, there are other pastors out there that will promote these lies. This is more than a lack of discernment on Driscoll’s part, Osteen and Furtick are both preaching a message contrary to the true gospel, and contrary to the Bible as a whole. In fact the Word of Faith heresy is the exact opposite of the life we are called to as Christians.

The prosperity gospel is a damnable lie, that makes mans comfort take precedence over Gods sovereign control. It makes God into a magical genie in a bottle only summoned when life gets hard. And it elevates the power of man’s words over that of God’s. It also makes faith something you do, when the Bible clearly says faith is part of the gift of salvation. It’s basically a form of voodoo where God can be cajoled and coerced into action.  Furthermore it never takes into account the fact that life in general is hard yes, but that the Christian life is especially hard…all of Jesus disciples except one (John who wrote Revelation) died as martyrs for their faith. Several passages in the Bible offer a stark contrast to the Word-Faith message…

I Timothy 6:6-11 says…

But godliness with contentment is great gain, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content. But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation, into a snare, into many senseless and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs. But as for you, O man of God, flee these things. Pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness, gentleness.

Matthew 6:31-33

Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

Philippians 4:11-12

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.

Pastors like Mark Driscoll, Rick Warren, Bill Hybles and Perry Nobel who unashamedly share the stage with prosperity heretics like Joel Osteen, TD Jakes, John Hagee, Paula White, Steven Furtick, Joyce Meyer, Judah Smith, Todd Bentley,  Christine Cain, Kenneth Copland, Brian Houston, Rod Parsley and Creflo Dollar (to name a few), are in violation of scripture themselves for in Second Timothy we’re told:

2 Timothy 3:1-3

But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. Avoid such people. (emphasis mine)

And Galatians 1:8 says:

But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach to you a gospel contrary to the one we preached to you, let him be accursed. (emphasis mine)

The Bible actually says let him be accursed…avoid such people…I believe that any pastor who willingly gives platform to these heretics is in clear violation of scripture and have disqualified themselves of the position they hold, unless the own up to their mistakes and repent of endangering their flock.

The prosperity gospel and Word-Faith movement are a damnable lie because Gods blessing is not measurable by a persons physical prosperity. Times of difficulty and trials in our life add depth to our relationship with God, because in those times either you are truly relying on Him and not to our own understanding or if you have fallen prey to the Prosperity Gospel and Word of Faith movement you are cursing God when trials come and showing you never really trusted Him in the first place…you just wanted more stuff.

23 thoughts on “I Declare = Word-Faith Preachers are Agents of Satan

  1. I do believe that you err by discounting the prosperity/faith message as a whole.
    It makes God into genie in a bottle you say.

    Jesus did say twice in Matthew, if you say to this mountain move and believe it will, then it will be done. Then He says nothing will be impossible.

    Why did Jesus use a non-beneficial example like moving the mountain. Also, why did He curse the fig tree, and not bless it to bear figs?
    I think it’s to demonstrate faith; i.e. God listened to Joshua, the scripture says ‘Joshua spoke to God, saying ‘sun, stand still”.
    In the same way Jesus said, ‘thank You Father that You always here me. ‘Lazarus come out”

    That very much says God says, use faith, believe that I will perform your words, if you can’t believe, then I won’t (move mountains if you have faith for it)
    He did not let one of Samuel’s words fall to the ground?

    The faith preachers do not err by preaching the message; I do not hear them advocating people to use their wealth for selfish motives. It’s quite possible that people do use it for selfish motives, but that’s not what they preach.

    You will have what you believe. God is God, if everybody on this earth is as rich as Kenneth Copeland, it would not make a dent in God’s resources.
    In Acts it says everybody had enough. If Kenneth gives away all his money, nobody will have enough, so that’s not the solution, the solution is to have everybody well enough so that through their giving everybody will have enough.

    Lot’s of people get hurt from the faith movement because they step out on presumption, and not on faith. They are not convinced about what they profess, but ‘blackmail’ God to catch them. If you wish it will work, or if you still hope you are fixing for some hurt.
    You must know it’s done, that’s faith. To have the gall that you have such an entry with God that He will perform your word (move mountains) then He will, o ye of little faith.

    Why did His disciples not calm the storm, nor drive out the demon? Jesus said because of their lack of faith.

    If a lie is propagated enough people will believe it’s the truth.
    Same with profession, you profess it until you believe it; like Abraham gave praise to God and was strengthened in His faith.
    What better way than to honor God but saying to the mountain, ‘move’ as Jesus His Son said we should.
    Speak to God, saying ‘mountain move!’ That is prayer. What is the difference between faith and prayer? Faith is prayer, and prayer is faith.

    God blessed the Israelis so that they could be a blessing (Abraham all the way down to Jesus, and in Him we can be a blessing, spiritually, financially too).

    He blessed Job. The benefits of wisdom are? A righteous man leaves an inheritances to his children’s children?

    It’s true that in this life we will face many troubles. Do you think a rich man has less or more troubles than a poor man?
    Did Jesus want us to suffer financially, or so we could have enough to give.
    Stats say people are not ready for retirement. Who’s gonna take care of the elderly?
    People are scarred stiff which means they’ll hoard all the more for their own retirement (which will not be enough) and so neglect giving more an more.

    Eccl states ‘money answers everything’, and it’s true, ’cause it’s in the bible.

    Times of trials adds depth. Yep, I really want to have my son suffer so he can cling to me more.
    Actually no, I want him to be so happy so we can both smile and laugh (have life and that in abundance).
    Jesus said the cares of this world, AND the deceitfulness of riches is a stumbling block.
    Both are a stumbling block if disconnected from God.

    Taste and see that I am good.

    That money can be and is probably one of the biggest temptations I don’t dispute, but like Paul said, we are not saying you have grace(faith/money) so that you can sin(self-indulge) as some as been reporting.

    Here’s a thought, if you are wise, you will have riches in your house (if you trust in riches you will fail, but the righteous flourish).

    If God said, wisdom is the principle thing, and a result of that is riches, then I’ll be praying for wisdom till I have riches in my house.
    Also as proverbs states with a man shall be satisfied with the fruit of his mouth as surely as the work of his hands rewards him.

    You can work for your welfare, I’ll speak and work.
    And I’ll speak as one with authority,as Jesus did, Jesus did not speak as if He was God, but as if He had authority, that’s why the pharisees wanted to know by who’s authority.
    And if Jesus could curse the fig tree, as an example for His disciples to exercise faith, surely we as His disciples should too.

    • My apologies if the tone is attacking or disrespectful, no disrespect meant. I was in the ‘zone’.
      I’m testing my beliefs against yours. Iron sharpens iron.

  2. I had been a part of the City Church, pastored by Judah Smith, for two years. I then had to leave for reasons outside my control.

    I loved Pastor Judah a lot, and also followed his teaching. I guess you could say I idolized him for a long time…eventually I stopped reading my Bible and started taking Judah’s word as gospel.

    Looking back, I wish I had never gone to the City Church. I am part of a church that does a lot of in-depth preaching, and I found a lot of things that Judah was teaching VERY wrong.

    In a way, I am glad that God allowed me to get a taste of the Word of Faith movement…I know what it is like, and I can relate to others who are coming out of it…now if I could only help my friends who are still trapped in it.

  3. Pingback: The Seven (-1) 9.03.13 | Dead Pastors Society

  4. I came across your blog as I was researching the word-faith movement and I am amazed how you could so concisely sum up my very similar thoughts on the whole thing. Thank you for your truth and your faith. You’ve gained a new follower in me!

  5. John, I’d like to say that you have summed up my feelings on this subject beautifully! I found your blog because someone keeps quoting these declarations to me. Seriously? His self-help books are simply a new version of, “The Power of Positive Thinking” by Norman Vincent Peale which I do believe was published in 1952. I was born and raised Catholic and have my struggles with the “Church” so much so that when my daughter went for her sacraments I felt it was my Spiritual as well as my Civic duty tell off 6 total strangers and supposed, agents of “Good”. How can you be an agent of good and spew hatred toward others? Entire groups of others? I have never commented on a blog, but I was compelled to do so here. Thanks for expressing what I have been feeling for quite some time..

  6. I’m not so sure preaching “self-help, positive thinking mumbo jumbo” is such a bad thing. Speaking as someone who has come through depression with the help of this “mumbo jumbo” I can tell you, I’m much more open to the message of the Bible now than when I was depressed. It IS unfortunate that the application of the messages are so focused on getting money/increasing wealth but I think the content of the message themselves are good–if, instead, you apply them to thinking about relationships and general happiness I think they are quite good indeed. Try to read them to say, “have faith and God will bestow upon you an “explosive blessing” of great comfort in your situation” because you know that there is an ultimate plan–a purpose to your suffering. I think we can each choose to interpret the message of these teachers (and the Bible) for ourselves. (Because, ultimately, that’s what religion has been about since day 1–it’s always been SOMEONE’S interpretation of events or statements–be it the Catholic church’s or the disciples themselves)

  7. FOR THE TIME WILL COME WHEN THEY WILL NOT ENDURE SOUND DOCTRINE , BUT AFTER THEIR OWN LUSTS HEAP TO THEMSELVES TEACHERS, HAVING ITCHING EARS, AND THEY SHALL TURN AWAY THEIR EARS FROM THE TRUTH AND TURN TO FABLES 2TIMOTHY 4:3-4

  8. God takes care of those who preach the gospel..our mega church preachers do more good than bad for people in this world…people like you slander gods people …what do you believe in? I guess your education has made your mind up for you….the love of money is evil. Not the possession of money…god said I give you the power to get wealth, not live in poverty. Jesus didn’t need money because he was pure and in need of nothing. We on the other hand were born in sin. That’s why god said. ” seek ye the kingdom of heaven first” then all these blessings will fall upon you..like it or not, money helps people..not all people with money are evil..if the only people with money were all evil, then were does that leave the people of god? God told us to subdue the world..taking riches from the wicked. Showing the wicked that money can be used for good. Stop being jealous of another mans wealth. No one talks about stock brokers or movie stars or rich business men. It’s always slander when it comes to gods people. In this world you have to have money to spread the gospel..the televangelist have saved countless souls…how many souls have you saved?

    • Really: “God told us to subdue the world..taking riches from the wicked.” that’s funny…I must have missed THAT verse in my Bible. I agree that God takes care of those that preach the gospel, but I’ve never heard Osteen preach the gospel, just self-help, positive thinking mumbo jumbo, never has he mentioned Jesus atoning sacrifice for our sins. He can’t even say the word sin. AND I can’t save souls sir, for that is Christ’s work…alone…I can only preach the gospel which I fully entend to continue to do.

  9. I just “found” you on twitter and was led to this blog – very true very powerful what you say here – thank you for being willing to speak the truth with boldness and without compromise – don’t forget James MacDonald is also now associating with these men.

  10. Pingback: The Five « Dead Pastors Society

  11. LOL, I JUST finished a blog entry about this,

    “God has some competition: Osteen’s new book declares it so ”
    http://the-end-time.blogspot.com/2012/09/god-has-some-competition-osteens-new.html

    And I go to Erin Benzinger’s blog and find this

    “Judging a Book by Its Cover”
    http://www.donotbesurprised.com/2012/09/judging-book-by-its-cover.html

    And then I come here and find yours. We really hate this apostasy/blasphemy/accursed Prosperity Gospel, don’t we! I know I do!

    I loved your ‘heresy hurricane season’ mention, and your essay in general. Well said.

    You know, I read the pages of the Osteen book that were available online, and on one page Osteen is teaching that God has ‘explosive blessings’ in store for you, and gave an anecdote of a member at Osteen’s Lakewood Church giving a “large donation, a tithe” on an unexpected inheritance the man had received. It was so large, Osteen wrote, the man paid off his own house, several friend’s houses besides, and of course gave the tithe. Joel’s response in the book was “I am believing for some long-lost relatives like that! I’m believing for explosive blessings!” (p. 4)

    Remember, the man got the money (and money is not always a blessing) because his relative DIED. No mention on of the relative was saved, or any expression of sorrow for the man’s loss. Only that we should all be so lucky to have some dead relatives give us enough money to pay off or buy some houses. I was sick reading that.

    I feel very sad for Mr Osteen on the Day.

  12. Pingback: Daily Roundup | Rated R For Reformed

  13. Mark Driscoll, Rick Warren, Bill Hybles and Perry Nobel are also Agents of Satan not just sharing the pulpit/stage with them!

    • I believe you’re correct, in this particular instance though it seems to me its more of guilt by association…and promotion, being as they, themselves do not actually preach this gospel.

  14. Being in Houston, it saddens me to see so many led astray by Osteen. a few that I know have been – by the grace of our Lord – woken up to his heresy. My wife and I saw smilin’ Joel and his wife advertise this book on the idiot box last week. How odd that “Your Best Life Now” was first, “Become a Better You” was second – how does one improve on best? And now, because better than best ain’t good enough, we get to command the Holy Creator Savior Sustainer God revealed in Scripture to give us more earthly stuff to make us FEEL even better – about our own sinful selves. Osteen is Exhibit A James 3:1. May God have mercy on those poor souls led astray.

  15. Pingback: John Downey: I Declare = Word-Faith Preachers are Agents of Satan

Comments are closed.